Title Concert: Guildford Symphony Orchestra - Romance and Revolution

The concert embraces 19th century romance and the centenary of the Bolshevik Revolution, spanning the last years of the Tsars and the start of the Soviet era.  It begins in full romantic mode with Tchaikovsky’s Overture from Romeo and Juliet, followed by Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 1, composed when he was just 18.

The soloist is Franciso Vilar, a 21 year old Portuguese pianist who is already an internationally acclaimed prize-winning performer. Expect a highly expressive performance of this concerto’s rich melodies and spectacular solo fireworks.

Always a modernist, Shostakovich’s youthful idealism was tried as he watched his friends become victims of Stalin’s madness. His 5th Symphony is from a more optimistic period and remains – unusually for a 20th Century work – a firm favourite of concert-goers. Ticket prices: £12 - £24 adults; Under 25s £6 - £12; Under 16s FREE. Book now via the GSO Box Office on 01483 415847 or visit website www.g-s-o.org.uk.

Date and Time 18/11/17 from 19:30 to 21:30
Contact GSO Box Office
01483 415847
Location G-LIVE
(view map)
Cost £12 - £24 adults; Under 25s £6 - £12; Under 16s FREE

Add this event to a calendar application on your computer